Slightly refined proposal

Even if you do learn to speak correct English, whom are you going to speak it to?
Clarence Darrow

I have chosen one aspect of etiquette, the ‘articulation and proper use of speech’, to further explore into this project. I would like to decode phonetic spelling and apply the NZ accent and colloquialism in order to assist education in ESOL literacy as a cultural gateway.

My Social issue
I believe that language is a gateway into understanding culture. In order to have an authentic and genuine experience of a culture, aspects of language such as phonetics, accent and colloquialism are crucial.

My Design issue

How can I through design thinking through the use information design to educate overseas visitors on our unique way of speaking? In addition to this, how can I assist immersion into New Zealand’s identity through everyday conversation?

This project is an exploration into the structure of the English language. Inconsistency in the relationships between letters and sounds in addition to a Kiwi accent is a challenge for those who have learnt English as a second language. There are bombarded with irregular spelling, which addresses the common need of correct pronunciation.

To support the learning of the English language I want to create a visualization of what they already know. In the English language phonetically, 44 sounds exist. By typographically creating the essential sounds, the audience can then begin to think about using phonetic spelling within their everyday language. I want to compare the phonetic sounds with the New Zealand accent and it’s use specifically in Kiwi colloquialism. The focus is on fluency and learning to speak English in a social context with native speakers and as a result, I want visitors and Kiwi’s alike to have a laugh in an educational and a fair dinkum taste of New Zild.

As the outcome, I want to create a typographic exploration and celebration of the idiosyncrasies and uniqueness of the New Zealand language from an insider’s lens. My aim is to make overseas visitors of New Zealand to have the tools to access a genuine Kiwi yarn.

New Buzz Words:
Fair dinkum, Educate, Experience, Conversation

 

Leave a comment