Celeste Holmes x Social learning

Youth strategist. 
Looking at ways to engage youth with Te Papa, particularly through the avenue of the cafe area.

The cafe is very separate from the brand that is Te Papa.

We went to The Preservatorium for a chat and on the walk down from Massey, I had explained the seeds of my project.

Once we walked in to the quirky, retro cafe, we began pointing out the aids available in a typical cafe setting.

  • sugar, is it in a packet or do you scoop it out yourself?
  • menu, Is it on a chalkboard? Do you sit down and have someone go through with it for you? Is it in our lingo?
  • Is there something when you engage with a chair?
    Do you sit down, pull it out and it says “Sit ya ass down”?

We discussed how I could push beyond and purely an experience which relies on visual cues into a guided one?
Where perhaps the waitress guides you through a particular activity opposed to leaving it to chance?

My project has started to take shape into a social experience over the course of this conversation.
Kiwi cuisine? Is it a game? Scrabble? Game of LIFE?

In order to design a social experience I intend to take a template of what already exists and individualise it to suit my needs.
I want to teach Kiwi English, which I am approaching like a foreign language. {social semiotics, sociolinguistics, social learning} Therefore I will investigate language workshops as a base starting point. From here I am able to ask participants, what could I add? How long should it be? What is it that’s being communicated to you? I need this…

Through the vehicle of cuisine (for example), the familiar act of cooking through a menu written in our English, can subconsciously build a Kiwi vocabulary.  Therefore, an authentic experience of our culture.
For example:
Wun cuppa flowa
1 cup of flour

During this discussion I was asked whether Experience design is the avenue I want to go down in my design career. I’m very open to experience design and editorial. In order to bring my strengths together, I would like my final output to be an Experience followed by a publication.
For example, I will create a social experience which educates participants on Kiwi language through the act of cooking. After the experience, participants will take home a Kiwi cuisine kit in order to recreate the social experience. Holistic

Through this I have not lost sight of utilising Te Papa and it’s brand.
Workshop held at Te Papa?

In regards to target audiences, is it more powerful to get us to realise our language quirks? Celebrate us and our language.
Could it be part of NZ International languages week (17-23 August)?
Or Wellington on a Plate? (15-31 August)?

Screen Shot 2014-05-20 at 10.40.12 pm Screen Shot 2014-05-20 at 10.39.46 pm

 

 

Leave a comment